Here’s some worthy advice—and good news—for people who started out their gluten-free journey by asking the simple question, “What foods have gluten?” Instead of concentrating on what not to eat, concentrate on the gluten-free foods you can eat.
Fortunately, there are many healthy and delicious foods that are naturally gluten-free. They include:
- Meat and poultry
- Fish and seafood
- Beans, legumes, and nuts
There are also many naturally gluten-free grains that you can enjoy:
- Corn (maize)
- Buckwheat groats (also known as kasha)
- Gluten-free oats
- Nut flours
Caution: According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, some naturally gluten-free grains may contain gluten from cross-contact with gluten-containing grains through harvesting and processing. Purchase only versions that are tested for the presence of gluten and contain less than 20 parts per million.
Download this expert FREE guide, Celiac Disease & Other Food Allergies: Celiac symptoms, lactose and gluten intolerance symptoms, gluten-free diet, and more.
Learn the facts about celiac symptoms, lactose and gluten intolerance symptoms and how you can go gluten-free happily, healthfully and confidently!
As a rule, traditional wheat products such as pastas, breads, crackers, and other baked goods are not gluten-free. However, there are many gluten-free options available that use alternative flours and grains.
Many cereals contain gluten or wheat-based ingredients, but there are some that do not. Be on the lookout for the “gluten-free” label, but also realize that not all gluten-free cereals will advertise as such, so it is important to check the list of ingredients. Something to watch out for: cornflake cereals and puffed rice cereals may contain malt flavoring or extract, which contains gluten.
Oats are often harvested and processed with the same equipment that is used for wheat, and are therefore easily contaminated. Research indicates that pure, uncontaminated oats consumed in moderation (up to ½ cup dry rolled oats daily) are tolerated by most people with celiac disease. Look for oats specifically labeled gluten-free in all products containing oats, including granolas and granola bars.
Soups and Sauces
Soups and sauces are one of the biggest sources of hidden gluten, as many companies use wheat as a thickener. It is always a good idea to read the label of any pre-prepared or canned soups and sauces, paying special attention to those that are cream-based.
Fresh and frozen fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free foods. However, it’s important to read labels on any processed fruits and veggies, as well as dried fruit and pre-prepared smoothies. Additionally, packaged frozen potatoes are not always gluten-free, and labels should be read carefully when considering these products.
Most beverages are gluten-free, including juices, sodas, and sports drinks. Alcoholic beverages, including wines and hard liquor/distilled liquors/hard ciders are also gluten-free. However, beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages and malt vinegars that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free. There are several brands of gluten-free beers available in the United States and abroad.
Not all medicines and vitamins are gluten-free, so make sure to read the label before you buy.
For further reading, check out the recipes posted at GlutenFreeandMore.com. See also the University Health News post “Celiac Disease Diet: Your Gluten-Free Planning Guide.”
Powered by WPeMatico